Announcement : Arrival of My Little Precious Baobei Alena

4 03 2010

Dear All,

My Little Precious Baobei Alena arrived on the 26th of Feb 2010 earlier than the initial scheduled.

I went for my final check up on the 25th of Feb 2010 and as usual and expected.  The usual urine test, blood pressure taking then will finish the check up seeing the doc.  After that i head to the admission counter to have the pre-admission done since i am already scheduled on the 3rd of March 2010.  The queue is short but as expected the waiting time is like so long!

Nothing much in particular, just that i am feeling extremely heavy that day & also extremely fatigue.

Went down to Downtown East to get some stuffs and give in to my cravings. COFFEE!!! and suprisingly i had cravings for OCK also. -_-” Bought fishballs, fish nuggets and a curry puff which i had my curry puff at about 9pm plus when i am home.

The weather that night was terrible, i constantly wipe myself with ice water hoping that it would bring down my temperature, but it doesnt seems to help.  I could hardly breath that night.  I even shifted the bigger fan to my room hoping that i can help me catch some beauty sleep.  It still doesnt help at all.

That night i did realise that my baobei was extremely active and she was kicking me non stop. =)

I then toss and turn on the bed like a toast! Then…. BINGO! A nice position which is not very encouraging. The RIGHT SIDE! Just shortly like probably a few seconds, i heard a snap sound (*like when u stretch ur lazy back, the cracking sound alike!) leads me to jump out of my bed and start to panic. My waterbag burst and lead me to say something like “Baby ah! Why this timing?” As i did a flash back of this, the feeling somehow still scares me cos its a combination of anxious, shock, lost, confuse…..

I decided to knock on my mom room door and to call the ambulance.  It was already 0415am in the morning.  By the time the ambulance arrive, my room floor is already all wet as the water kept gushing out.  (*its just like u simply cant control ur bladder!)

The SCDF guy were nice and really patient and was constantly asking about my condition and contraction period.  Initially, the contraction feeling is fine until i almost reach the hospital, the pain increase and i can no longer tolerate.

The whole incident simply look super drama but thats what i personally experience!

Upon reaching the hospital, i was pushed to the Delivery Suite and had an ultrasound and CTG done.  I start to panic further cos at this point of time, you will not be able to feel the baby movement at all.  Though its normal, i do paranoid and wonder what is going on inside.

Shortly, strong contraction feeling started and the pain is totally unbearable.  I simply couldnt talk or move around and all i know is grabing the bedsheet until they gave me the mask to sooth the pain.  The surgeons came and did a check only to realise that i have already dilated and had to arrange for an emgerency c-section.

I was then pushed to the operation theater with doctor advising me that they will be using the epidural anesthesia* on me.

*From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This article is about the anaesthetic technique. For other uses, see Epidural (disambiguation).

The term epidural is often short for epidural anesthesia, a form of regional anesthesia involving injection of drugs through a catheter placed into the epidural space. The injection can cause both a loss of sensation (anaesthesia) and a loss of pain (analgesia), by blocking the transmission of signals through nerves in or near the spinal cord.

The epidural space (or extradural space or peridural space) is a part of the human spine. It is the space inside the bony spinal canal but outside the membrane called the dura mater (sometimes called the “dura”). In contact with the inner surface of the dura is another membrane called the arachnoid mater (“arachnoid”). The arachnoid encompasses the cerebrospinal fluid that surrounds the spinal cord.

Spinal anaesthesia is a technique whereby a local anaesthetic drug is injected into the cerebrospinal fluid. This technique has some similarity to epidural anaesthesia, and the two techniques may be easily confused with each other.

I was glad to hear what the doctor advise but on the other hand i am really nervous cos its a  half body anesthesia, which means i will be awake throughout the operation and i will be able to see my baby immediately.

I was pushed into the operation theater as usual and seen in movies, the room is big and cold with big lamps.

I was told to sit up so that they will be able to give me the epidural injection.  Its so cold and i cant help but keep shivering.  I am really scare and nervous.  Well, who doesnt especially if you know what is this injection about. The injection is rather painful which leave me grabing the nurses hand and let out a scream. Plus the contraction pain, there are several times which i almost tears. I inhale the gas mask so hard that it relieved me for a while and send my brain in halluacination feel.

Right after the injection, i was already half body numb.  All i can feel is the pushing and pressure.  Simply have no idea have the ‘thing’ started.  All i know is, i did ‘fall asleep’ several a times and the moment i am waiting for is the doctor say….its done and they show me my baby.  I am in tears.  I request for my mom to be in the observation room for a while cos i want to ensure that my baby is fne.   A short conversation brought me to more tears. In the  recovery room all i felt was freezing. The senior nurses are nice and patient giving me the warmer to make me feel better.

I manage to recover fast and was sent to my bed, Ward 32 Bed 26. When i am up there, i am glad that my parents were there already.  And smile when they assure me that my baby is fine.

Okay la, shall not carry on the blog.  Here is my baobei’s photo!

First Day!

First Time Carrying HerAfter Getting Up From Bed

27/02/2010

Snap This Picture When Carrying Her. =)

Last but not least,

I must THANK GOD for everything.

For giving me a healthy & beautiful girl and i know i will give her my very very best of everything.

For my lovely precious baobei, i will be strong!

I love you baobei Alena. =)

Hugs!


Actions

Information

One response

12 03 2010
Tan

Kinda of a roller costa ride feeling, ups and downs and the excitement. However, at the end of it, there is a happy feeling when Alena arrives. Very cute and lovable girl.

Leave a Reply

